top of page
Search
  • cvirginafrench

March 2023 Newsletter

I am so happy to bring you news from my life across the world! The last four weeks the Lord has planted me in Kenya and it has been a beautiful time. I am here because the Lord truly answers prayers, He listens to our heart's desire, and I am here because the Lord is faithful.



In Mid-February I touched down in Nairobi and stayed at the sister Word of Life base there in Kabete for one week. It is a peaceful location outside of the busy capitol city that provides a welcoming place for youth of any age to come and experience the love of God. I am grateful to have a friend on staff that showed me around the campus and explained to me in detail how the camps, discipleship training center, workshops, and other types of events are hosted. The soccer ministry draws in many young people to play and watch, and through this they get to know the mission of Word of Life and have exposure to the Gospel.

I got to know the staff during my short visit and joined in a different ministry every day.

I helped in 3 school bible clubs, Sunday school, student Sunday service in a local boarding school, prison visit, worship night, and coaching grade 3-6 boy's soccer practice.


From Nairobi, I continued to the coastal Word of Life base in Diani where I am located now. I am so happy to be reunited with and serving beside my friends from last year, the Kenyan staff as well as the current 3 German interns. I arrived during the third week of the Discipleship Training Course which is ongoing. It is a good challenge to get to know each of the students of this spring semester because all 35 of them are at a different point in their walk with Christ and are here for different reasons. Some to become better evangelists, some to become influential leaders, some because they left their orphanage, others because their family could not afford for them to stay at home. My heart is to encourage them to continue learning and saying yes to God in their personal lives and leading them to become ministers of the gospel in their public lives.


What I am Doing Day to Day?

I am teaching drama in the ministry department and I am part of the dance team. During the week I visit schools to host Good News (bible teaching) club as well as at our own Word of Life Academy. Our soccer team meets almost every day to practice but it is slowing down this month because most of the teams we compete with observe Ramadan. On Saturdays the staff and students split into teams for several ministries. I have really enjoyed visiting the Muslim community on Funzi Island where we are partnering with a missionary couple there to build relationship with the local children. We get to play games and talk with them, cultivating an atmosphere to freely share the gospel in the future. I have been requested to teach a course on Sundays to the the teens at my local church I attend, Mamlaka Hill Chapel. Something exciting I am helping with now is to start our own student library at Word of Life Diani.



Prayer points:

  • Wisdom and guidance in my words and that they would be God's not my own

  • The students in DTC would come to know the true character and nature of God and fall in love with Him

  • Provision financially for me, the Word of Life base, for students' school fees and for their families at home

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page